The *Epic Fail* of pharmaceutical advertising on TV

tv-582x400

Over the years, I’ve noticed some fairly egregious logical fallacies, half-truths, outright borderline-deception, and other ridiculousness in the arena of pharmaceutical drugs advertised on TV (“Direct-to-Consumer” advertising, or “DTC”).  The slipperiness and spin are atrocious.  I thought I’d point out a few examples.  The rhetorical retorts that follow the bolded phrases are almost exclusively the types of diatribes I holler at the TV screen when these stupid things come on.  Natch, I use a shit-ton of snark lol.  😉

“Tell your doctor about all the medicines you take” – wait, what?  “All the medicines“?  Are that many people seriously on that many meds that wording like that is the default?  They’re simply assuming that everyone takes meds and that everyone is on a lot of them.

Or are they not making such an assumption?  Could this kind of phrasing have more of a social engineering attempt, to make the general public feel as though everyone already is on a lot of meds so that they won’t feel so uneasy about receiving prescription after prescription?  You decide.

“Tell your doctor if… (you’ve been to a region where fungal infections are common, you’ve had a recent infection, etc)” – But isn’t it your doc’s job to know that stuff and to ask you those questions?  Isn’t that what the $100-250 (out of pocket; insurance copays vary widely) cost for the 5-whole-minutes with the MD is for?  Or the 8-12 years of education they brag about – shouldn’t they have learned to take a decent basic history at some point during all those years?  How the hell am I supposed to know which areas are rife with which diseases?  It’s not my job to connect my Spring Break excursion in March with my gradually-increasing cough in May; it’s yours, conventional docs.  So take more than 36 seconds (real average) of time with me and ask me some real f**king questions.

“Don’t take this drug if you’re allergic to it or any of its ingredients” – Why yes, doctor, can I have that Xarelto allergy panel run first, before I fill that scrip?  Oh, you mean there isn’t any such thing as a Xarelto allergy panel?  You don’t say!  How in the hell am I supposed to know if I’m allergic to a drug if I’ve never taken it before?  Let me call my psychic.

Oh wait–you mean I’m just supposed to take the drug and wait and see what happens?  And if I break out in rashes and welts and my throat and lungs start closing up, then poof!–we’ll know?  Is the population a litter of guinea pigs now?  Guess so.  But if I turn out to be allergic to a drug and I die, my family ain’t gonna call my psychic; they’re going to call an attorney.

“Take Drug X to alleviate Drug Y’s symptoms” (example: opioid-induced constipation, maybe better-known by its cutesy acronym “OIC” (yeah, “oh I see”, too, what they’re doing there)) – OK, let me get this straight: now we’re openly admitting that our drugs are screwing people up, and instead of, you know, maybe pulling them off that drug, we’re just going to prescribe another one, which of course has side effects of its own.  Three cheers for increased drug interactions (the odds of which go up as each new drug is added, as any and all of them can interact with any and all of them, which is about as complex and dangerous as it sounds).  Where the hell do I sign up?

“Drug X not working?  Try Drug Y instead” – So basically, we’re now openly admitting that our shit doesn’t work, but we’re still keeping you on the Medical Merry-go-round.  Got it.  Just wanted to be sure.

My favorite one is a variation on the above theme, when they say, “Drug X not working?  Add Drug Y!”  With no mention of maybe, say, discontinuing the ineffective Drug X?  This happens a lot, especially with antidepressants.  Almost all of which have Black Box Warnings.  And Did You Know: drugs are hardly ever–if ever–studied in combination; the drug trials only give one drug at a time (and in fact, the study subjects cannot be taking any other meds!), and that’s what the safety approvals are based on.  Nobody considers the potential effects of other drugs during those trials.  Yeah, I’m encouraged.

When the list of side effects includes fatal infections, cancers, etc…all for “75% of people saw clearer skin in 4 months” (and define “clearer”?).  Care to define that?  “Clearer” could be any level of improvement, and that level can be infinitesimal.  It could be 1% clearer.  Or less.  And none of the commercial spokespeople touch the elephant in the room – what about the other 25%?  Obviously, they didn’t see “clearer” skin.  Which means, at best, no improvement at all, and at worst, they flared up further.

“Be proactive/Take control of your condition (and other statements of “empowerment); ask your doctor if drug X is right for you.”  No.  Taking control of your condition is not passively taking advice that’s plotted along a path set by cookie cutter “standards of care” and taking a drug to quash symptoms.  Taking control of your condition is attempting to seek out information relating to the root cause (and sorry – unless it’s an autosomal disease/disorder, it’s not all genetic; there’s something else going on, too).  Taking control of your condition is asking questions, making suggestions, demanding to be listened to, choosing open-minded doctors who listen, and firing those who don’t.  Being proactive is choosing your own doctor outside of the insurance network – you know–the one that’s actually going to do you the best service*.

“Stop merely managing your disease/symptoms; take our drug (that merely manages your disease/symptoms).”  This is a variation on the preceding theme; respond to these idiots accordingly.  Hardly any drug on the market actually addresses the root cause of any health issue; they treat symptoms, usually by inhibiting or blocking a pathway or function that the body is wanting to carry out.  Obviously the body doesn’t do this in order to make us miserable, even though it can feel like it.  Instead, the body is trying to compensate for a really f**ked up environment/stimulus, and it’s doing the only thing it knows how.  To stop that compensation mechanism with a drug might make us feel better (short-term, usually), but the drug does nothing to fix that underlying f**ked up environment/stimulus that’s causing the body to go haywire in the first place.  And it never will.  And if (since) it’s not, it’s mere management and nothing more, no matter what flowery phrasing we use to advertise it.

“Our product (a screening test) is not intended for the people who really need it and would be the only ones likely to use it.  (It’s only intended for those who don’t really need it.)”  So….I’m supposed to screen for a condition that I probably won’t get, using a test that I probably don’t need, with money I don’t have, but heaven forbid I actually have an increased risk of developing that disease, because that same test isn’t geared for me?  “Here, do this thing you don’t need; for people who do need it, well, sorry, it’s not for you.”  What the hell kind of sense is that?  Why bother even developing something like that?  Drug development is expensive; now we know where part of those astronomical medical costs are going!

The whole drug advertising world is f**ked up.  Period.  I would like to see these ads completely re-banned.

(*As your resources and energy allow) ❤

 


15 thoughts on “The *Epic Fail* of pharmaceutical advertising on TV

  1. Great post! The Pharmaceutics business is very scary and it just doesn’t end with their irritating false ads. Haha. It’s sad to say but for the most part it is all about money and nothing to do with the health of people really. My favorite when their ads come on is always “try this but it has about 100 side effects.” xD

    1. Lol yeah!!! WTF is that about, anyway? “This drug might cause a ‘fatal event’, but your skin won’t be (as) scaly!” Umm, no thanks, I’d rather grow a few scales than die, thank you 😳😉💓🌷

  2. And here I grew up fearing/resisting Big Brother, metaphorically speaking (and in IRL), but maybe the real threat is Big Pharm. *laugh*

  3. With my Fibromyalgia, GERD and various other fun things, I rely on medications more than I wish I had to. Right now there are three meds in my Intrathecal Pain Pump (fentanyl, clonadine, Marcaine) and three meds I take orally…MRIS (morphine for “breakthrough pain), Protonix (GERD), Restoril (insomnia).
    I agree that Big Pharm is a profit hungry monster and a lot of the drugs they come up with are unnecessary, revamped versions of older meds with expired patents, or redundant. All of my oral meds are available in generic, thank goodness. My previous sleeping need, Lunesta, was $500.00 per month. The Restoril is $15. The main difference is the BigPharm patent.
    It’s not enough that they put pressure on the docs to push their drugs, now they’re advertising straight to the general population. “Hey, go ask your doctor to write you a bunch of scrips for meds you don’t need and may possibly kill you”. And the sheeple do it! Our society is turning into a bunch of pill popping hypochondriacs.
    I’m tied to meds to have any sort of quality of life. My body chemistry isn’t normal anymore. I do what I can with diet and exercise. It’s not enough…for me. That being said, I DO NOT advocate meds until you’ve tried everything else.
    BigPharm doesn’t care about you. They only care about their profits.

    1. Totally agreed 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼😘❤️. You’re exactly right! Meds have their time and place 😁. When it’s a matter of life and death, when it’s another type of emergency, when nothing else works, when used for short-term symptom relief while working on finding/addressing the root cause, and/or when the problem is too far advanced 👍🏼. When the benefits outweigh the side effects, that’s a great time to use them; no problem there 😁❤️. Yeah, you got it!–when people have a problem that is minor compared to the potential risks, and/or they go straight to the doc and order them to prescribe meds that–yep, you nailed it again!–could *kill* you (!), well now that’s just ridiculous lol. And yep, the sheeple do it! Drug companies don’t really want to cure disease or heal people; they want to create longtime (lifetime) customers 😳🌷🌹💓☮💖🌺🌟

      1. Dang! I hate it when I make typos😤. That MRIS should be MSIR (Morphine Sulphate Instant Release) DOH!😧
        And you’re right about creating lifetime customers. Unfortunately they also create Nationwide health problems like the opiate addiction. NO ONE, except chronic pain patients or people with things like cancer, needs meds like oxycontin, fentanyl, morphine, Dilaudid…etc… long-term. It’s like one doesn’t need antibiotics unless one has an actual infection. But people demand, doctors pull out their Rx pads and send them on their way.
        Goodness, I could rant for days on this topic. Just from my own experience. Medicine should not be a “for profit” business. I DON’T mean that health care workers shouldn’t make a good living wage. I DO mean that their shouldn’t be fat cat shareholders deciding their profit is more important than a patient’s health.😱😤😡😷
        Okay, I’m done. For now anyway 😜😘

        1. Omg you’re so right! 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼. I wholeheartedly agree, 110% 😁

          And they give out antibiotics (which are antibacterial) for viral infections (!!). Like WTF? Lol.

          Opiates are great for people with cancer, healing from big bone fractures, debilitating migraines (if they’re resistant to chiropractic manipulation and they’re not due to something stupid-easy like Taurine or Magnesium deficiency, which are surprisingly common and no conventional doctor thinks to check for this shizz!). Omg what’s the world coming to?? They’re *creating* a whole ocean of addicts, and 90% of it is completely unnecessary!

          Hell yeah girl, let’s rant!! Lol 😉😉. Do I smell one of your amazing blog posts?? 🙏🏼🙌🏼😎🌟💖

  4. This is why I stick to the natural stuff when I need meds because I know that there aren’t going to be a million side effects and some of them actually improve your health. They try to ban these things in some parts of the world though like Cannabis and Kratom, which have actually helped a lot of people instead of making them even sicker.

    1. Amen, girl!! 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼. I love Kratom; it was my best friend after a week of Tramadol this summer when my herniated neck disc decided to act up. The effects are very similar (including the side effects) but it delivered way more benefit for fewer side effects 😁. The natural stuff is amazing! It’s literally probably the reason I’m alive today 💚💙

Share your thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.