Readers ask: ‘I love your blog pictures! How do you find them?’

I’ve gotten this question/compliment (thank you!!  Really glad you’ve enjoyed) more than a few times over the past year or so (mostly on my Asperger’s/autism spectrum blog), and since I’m feeling way more constructive today than I have in the past couple of days, I’ll tackle the project of coming up with a semi-coherent answer. 😉

I try to search for just the right image for each post, an endeavor that often takes longer than writing the actual post (a FunFact of which in itself might be somewhat amusing to some) (grin).

I’m a big fan of surreal and abstract art, so that’s primarily what I use for my blog graphics.  It symbolizes how I see the world–not literally, but more like my visceral response toward it–murky, hazy, and wide-open to interpretation.

I don’t own any of the images I use, with the exception of photos I’ve taken of my partner and our cats.  Everything else is lifted from my most powerful ally: Google Images.

With Google Images, the digitized art world is my oyster.  Except that I don’t really like oysters.  So maybe we’ll say chocolate bar instead.  Yes.  The world is my chocolate bar.  Doesn’t that sound more enticing?  Me too.

In the search bar, I’ll type in search strings such as “abstract girl hd” or “surreal landscape hd” or “depression art hd”.  (You always want to type “hd” after your desired description, because then you will get predominantly higher-definition/resolution images, as opposed to crappy little clip art.  Although stock photo conglomerates are catching on to this, and starting to classify their crappy little clip art images as “hd”, so you’ll have to sidestep around those.)  Adding the word “wallpaper” just before “hd” helps, too, if you’re looking for wider, more in-depth images.  And if you’re looking for more of the portrait/tall image, searching for “mobile wallpaper” (or any variation thereof, such as iPhone wallpaper, Android wallpaper, etc) works well.

I’ve also searched for “zen wallpaper hd”, “nature landscape wallpaper hd”, and “tv art hd”, etc.  Whatever I’m in the mood for at the time.

I do like to choose images that fit the intended mood of the post; I feel that choosing a fitting image adds another dimension of depth, while leaving plenty open to the reader’s imagination and interpretation. 🙂

Along the way, I’ve come across particularly amazing artists, mostly found on sites like DeviantArt or Fine Art America.  Some of my favorites include:

Of course, my earliest favorites, which I have also included (or intend to include) in blog posts include Salvador Dali, Vincent Van Gogh, and Pablo Picasso.

Thank you to those who have expressed compliments, regarding both this blog and The Silent Wave.  I can’t take credit for any of the images, but I did have a lot of fun during the thrill of the hunt for them! 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

