Gratitude 

img_3239

Thanksgiving Day in the US (and Canada, for that matter) is a long way off.  But I’m thankful anyway.  Who says there has to be a designated day for giving thanks?

I am thankful for so many of the Little Things that actually become Big Things in a real hurry if you lose the ability to do them.  I admit that I took these “Little” Things for granted.  Maybe not entirely, but enough.

Little Things like being able to get out of bed.  I did so this morning with the help of Tramadol, a mild prescription narcotic painkiller, taken a half hour before I tried to get up.  My partner brought it to me with a cup of water and a straw.

Little Things like (this is probably going to be TMI–sorry about that!) being able to tear off my own toilet paper, for yesterday morning I could not do this, and my partner had to do it for me while I fought back tears, tears borne of a combination of pain, frustration, and fear.  Today, however, I was able to reach down and get it myself.

Little Things like being able to find a comfortable position in which to watch TV, with a pain level low enough to concentrate on and enjoy what I was watching.

Little Things like being able to carry my own tea cup and dinner bowl into the next room.

Little Things like the invention of straws, so that I can sip on liquids without having to lift a glass or mini-thermos and tilt my head back.

Little Things like iPads and smartphones, which provide me with methods of communication and sources of entertainment and connection.  They distract me from any pain and help me pass the time, without needing to sit in a big chair at a desktop computer.

Little Things like plenty of pillows to choose from, so that I can get the angle of my neck just right.

Little Things like strong painkillers and sleep, that have helped me to be much more active and much less miserable than I otherwise would have been.  I promise I still took it (very) easy and rested quite a bit.

Little Things like the fact that I didn’t have to go in to work today; I could take the day off without having to OK it through a supervisor or get a doctor’s note to prove that I wasn’t simply being “lazy” or playing hooky from work.

Little Things like the fact that my partner could write the orders for my MRI and make the phone call to the imaging center for me to set up my appointment.

Little Things like being able to call my conventional family medical doctor and ask if they would be willing/able to call in a prescription for those painkillers.  I didn’t even need to make an appointment with her, nor did I have to wait; she approved the prescription with no questions asked, and phoned it in to the pharmacy right next to our apartment.

Little Things like the fact that the sometimes-severe nausea that I dealt with for most of the day did eventually subside well enough that I could walk a little and eat some wonderful chicken and rice soup.  (And Little Things like the fact that the soup successfully rehydrated a rather Dehydrated Me.)

Little Things like the fact that this problem hasn’t affected my ability to walk, nor has it impacted the use of my dominant hand, which means that I can still function the way I’m accustomed to.

Little Things like the family, friends, and online community who have messaged, texted, commented, and emailed me words of love, hope, concern, advice, support, encouragement, optimism, prayers, warm thoughts, healing vibes, and positive energy.  I don’t know quite where I would be without all the lovely souls in my life!

Little Things like the caring, concern, support, and willingness to help from my partner, who has been an absolute gem of a gentleman throughout this whole thing.  He anticipates what I need and brings it to me without so much as a sigh or a grumble.  He’s very gracious about everything.

The pain was kept down to a dull roar, such that I didn’t have to shed any tears all day.  I was able to move around a little.

Today might not be the official Thanksgiving Day, but it’s a day of thanksgiving for me. 🙂 🙂

8 thoughts on “Gratitude 

  1. Pain is very humbling isn’t it? It’s good sometimes to be reminded of the things we take for granted so we can pause a minute and appreciate them. I’m thankful that the universe brought me together with my awesome Dearest Dude & cosmic sister! Keep taking those breaks and resting. ☯🐉💥💫💘🌟💖🔆📖📚📀📺🎶🎧💌💐💚🌸💜🌼🌺🌻🌹💞😍😘😎

    1. Thank you so much! Oooh, I love your term “cosmic sister”! Says it all right there 😉😎👊🏼. So true what you said 💓💓. I had fibro’s cousin, Myofascial Pain Syndrome, for 7 years and cervicogenic migraines for several more years after that (I still get them sometimes, but not as bad as before), and omg yes, pain is so humbling!! I’ve always been the one to carry stuff and do stuff for people in pain and it’s such a strange feeling to be in their shoes now! I have a good imagination, so I could imagine what it was like to be in their shoes before, but to experience it for myself is quite different; it brings it on home and makes it real 💖. I’m so very lucky to have a partner who helps me, and so willingly, and so lucky to have family and friends, online and offline, who care so much 😘😘❤️👍🏼👏🏼💞🍀😎👊🏼🙌🏼☀️🌟💝

    2. I want to say a specific big-ass Thank You for being there, and such an instrumental part of my life, and all your loving support! You are an amazing Cosmic Sister yourself, and I’m so flappy happy that we found each other!! 😁😁💘💙💘😎💖🌟💖👌🏼👏🏼👏🏼🙏🏼💪🏼✌🏼️🐉🌵🌴✨☄🏆🎤🌈🎆🎇🌠🎉🎊🎉❣💟☮💕❤️💛💚💙💜

Leave a Reply

