The spring upswing

img_3777

I feel myself shifting into high gear.  My energy is waxing without effort for the summer, just as it waned against my will during the winter.  This Waxing Thing is definitely well-underway.

Back then, in the wintertime, I felt the instinctive urge to hibernate.  I wanted nothing more than to curl up under a blanket, with a book, a snack, and a cat, and do little.  Sure, I wanted to keep learning, stay on top of things, and remain mentally active.  I also wanted to revise the fruits of my productivity during last spring and summer.  Winter is an excellent time for that.  But I wanted to slow down, stay in, turn inward.  I fought for the motivation to go to the office every day, to sit in more meetings and produce new things.  I was acting against the directives of my body’s natural energies, and I knew it–and I couldn’t change it. I couldn’t change the fact that the people who needed those meetings were people with ongoing needs that only I could fulfill.  I could certainly do what I had to do; it just took more energy.  And I did less of it–or at least, not much extra beyond that which was required of me.

But that was yin, and this is yang.  In the spring, my spirit awakens and arises.  It cracks its shell and shows its face.  I guess they don’t call it “spring” for nothing!

I’ve noticed it every year, although I can’t quite pinpoint the day.  Maybe I feel it begin to sprout and build slowly, but I can’t assign a timetable to that, either.  I just realize one day that I’ve been extra-productive.

In the spring, it probably looks like I’m hibernating again.  My outward behavior might not even appear to differ much from that of the fall and winter.

Except that it’s different inside.  It couldn’t feel more different.  I become more restless, more motivated.  I start getting things done.  The big exams that I’ve been working on, studying for, sitting for, and submitting for the past eight months (!) concluded at the beginning of April, which is perfect timing; I was able to segue right into my work projects.

Since then, I’ve started–and completed–a new patient intake questionnaire packet, numbering 52 full pages, a project which had sat on my long-term to-do list for over six years.

I picked back up with the Report of Findings template that I use for listing, describing, and summarizing the abnormalities I find on patients’ lab work, which I started in February but had to temporarily suspend due to having to study for the last of the exams, and I finished that, too, last week.  That template had last been updated two years ago, and it just underwent the biggest changes since we opened our office seven years ago.

Today I completed a huge 34-page “handout” (more like a mini-book) for patients, a project that I’d had to suspend nine months ago, due to beginning my exam process.

Next, I will probably revisit the 206-page autoimmune disease-friendly nutrition book (which also started out as a patient handout lol) that I began almost four years ago, which I’d had to temporarily shelve because I was starting the educational path that led up to the exams I’ve been involved with.  I will also start blogging very soon on our practice website’s blog section (!).

As soon as I can, I’m going to fulfill some work with that bridges my personal and professional lives (don’t worry; this is safe), by bringing my professional niche to the spectrum community, although I don’t feel right about elaborating further about that just yet.

My other plans include putting my Humpty Dumpty body back together again, a project that might, in itself, take several years.  I’ll have to (eeek!) become physically active again.  And meditate.  And create, on my own.

I will probably look like I’m hibernating, but the reality will be just the opposite.

Something will have to give.  I’m sure it will, unfortunately, be The Silent Wave blog.  That doesn’t mean I’ll let it go completely, nor will I delete it, remove it, or stop posting altogether.  I’ll keep posting, and I’ll try to stay active, as much as I can.  It just probably won’t be as frequent.  Or maybe not much will change?  Time will tell.  I’ll do my very best. πŸ™‚

Social media has already fallen far by the wayside.  That became apparent to me a little over a month and a half ago.  Given the choice between social media and Silent Wave blogging, I’ll choose to blog.

The late fall will bring the Yin once again.  Sometimes, I won’t even be able to engage in my work projects, and my brain will only be able to wrap itself around–and agree to–blogging.

But, I live in Texas, where summer is long and I usually don’t feel the Yin forces until just before Halloween.  So it might be a little while.  I can see myself staying relatively active on here, because that’s becoming easier and more versatile.

And guess what??  I found out this morning that I passed my exams!!

πŸ˜€

2 thoughts on “The spring upswing

  1. I’m squealing!!! I’m jumping!!! The dog is barking at meπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸŽ‰πŸŽˆπŸ’ͺβœŠπŸ’“πŸ’£πŸ’«πŸ’πŸŒ»πŸ»πŸŒ πŸŒŸπŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ†πŸ…πŸ’ƒ CONGRATS!πŸ’πŸ’™πŸ’˜πŸ’œβ€πŸ’›πŸ’šπŸ’–. I also get Spring Fever every year. Of course I doπŸ˜†

    1. Thank you dude!!! πŸ˜˜πŸ˜˜πŸ˜˜πŸ’šπŸ’œπŸ’žπŸ’–πŸŒΊπŸ’πŸŒ·πŸ˜πŸ˜‚πŸ’ͺπŸΌπŸŒ·πŸŒ΅πŸŒ΄β˜€οΈπŸ™ŒπŸΌ

Leave a Reply

