This blog is not dead :)

alive-web

It was simply dormant for a little while.  It wouldn’t be the first time, and although I hope it’s the last, I make no promises I’m not positive I can keep.

(On a side note, I decided to give my blog a much-needed facelift.  Doesn’t it rock??  (If not, just let me know–I’m a big girl; I can take constructive criticism 🙂 ) )

But I’m back.  And if I disappear again, I’ll come back again.

So here we are in–what–October 2016?  Wasn’t April, like, last week?  Where did the time go?

Well, I can answer that, even if I’m only speaking for myself.

Here’s the Reader’s Digest(TM) condensed version, headline-style…

I have a new Asperger’s/autism-themed blog!  That’s slightly old news; I started it at the end of April.  I’m sorry for not linking to it from here sooner.  The blog, The Silent Wave, can be found here.  It has gotten a surprising amount of traffic (I’ve even attracted my first real troll!), no doubt with help from July’s creation of the blog’s Twitter account (@TheSilentWave), which was set up not only to spread the word about the blog itself, but also to connect on a more frequent and personal level with some of the other amazing blog-writers I’ve met over the past three months.  It’s difficult to believe and comprehend that the vast majority of the action has happened within the last three months.

The blog itself went through an evolution over time and took on a life of its own.  What started out as a relatively colorless (I preferred black-and-white pictures at the time for their clarity and significance) scroll of a handful of posts, and a side-dish of clashing-color hyperlinks due to a WordPress theme choice that was incompatible with the rest of the blog’s contents, became a full-color, contemporary-looking, three-column labor of love.  Daily love.  Which is where I’ve been during my usual “off-time”, if there is a such thing in my life.

Speaking of Twitter, I did go and revamp my main/miscellaneous/multifaceted personal account (@Spitfyre77).  It, too, has lain dormant for several years, and it has gone through a major revival.  I facelifted that, too, adding profile and banner images, tweeting a bit more often, and connecting with more people.  Because I can only log into one account at a time, though, and switching back and forth by logging in and out of multiple accounts can be a pain in the arse, I tend not to tweet from that one as often as I do on my Silent Wave-dedicated account.  C’est la vie and stuff. 🙂

Sleep and I are on speaking terms, but we’re not close friends yet.  Solution: when in need of late-night TV companionship, just turn on the cable box’s DVR and watch one recorded Dr. Phil episode after another.  I’m not into the drama; I actually learn things.  Sometimes there’s a little bit of “well hell, next to them, my life isn’t so bad!” but the majority of the sentiment is, “dang, those people are in quite the pickle; I wonder how Dr. Phil is going to solve this one!”  It almost becomes a “Dr. House” of sorts, only the real-life psychology version.

Meet-Up participation has flatlined on my part; I forgot my Meet-Up password, so I’m (at least temporarily) screwed.

I’ve also been helping out a friend with Lyme Disease, the 30-year chronic kind.  She’s been on a rollercoaster, with multiple influences (most of them unqualified and hardly knowledgeable) for the past year.  I don’t have all the answers, but I do know where she’s getting led down the wrong path, but my influence is diminished by the geographical distance that separates us.

I thought I didn’t have any more trips planned for the rest of the year, but I signed up for a conference that subsequently got cancelled, so it looks like I have a spare plane ticket…

There’s more, but we’re nearing the end of the year (and my traditional year-end post ritual), and I don’t want to spoil all the fun, so I’ll stop here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

