What’s Who Loves Kitty about, anyway?

img_4584

A dear friend asked me that question, and not only is it a fair one, but a good one.

And I’m sure that if one person is wondering about this, then perhaps others might be, too.

And these folks deserve a good answer.

I tried to provide some sort of explanation for the blog title in my very first post.  Limited by time in the intern lounge of our med school, I didn’t get very far at the time.  After all, “I love cats” doesn’t exactly clarify anything lol.

So, I’ll add to that.  I’m not sure that this further explanation will clear things up, but hey–at least I can say I tried.  😉

I do love cats.  When I named this blog, however, I was thinking about one cat in particular.  Longtime readers, or newer ones who have gone on exploration safaris throughout this blog, will probably know who I’m talking about…

Little Maddie.  The beautiful little black and white medium-haired tuxedo that added such vivid color and character to our lives.  The funny little thing who made us laugh just looking at her be her.  The intelligent little thing who played mind games on us.  The fascinating little loony one who was born during a Full Moon, odd and bold and rich and comfortable with herself the way she was.  The character-rich little one who I swear was a dominatrix in a previous life, or perhaps a parallel universe.

You see, she wore a tuxedo and yet, the only missing component was the furry hot pink handcuffs.

She even had the moves down.  She would sashay from room to room, announcing her presence, which was so magnetic that we would have felt it anyway.

We would jokingly taunt, in suggestive voices, “who loves kitty?”

That provided the seed for the name of this blog.  (More info about Maddie and her still-alive-and-kicking brother can be found here.)

But as you know, as much as I love cats, this blog isn’t about cats.  This blog is simply a personal one.  Half-op-ed commentary, half-journal, I chronicle my sometimes-visionary, sometimes-misguided thoughts on life and this 21st-century world we inhabit as I see it.

Everything is as I see it–I call it as I see it, I tell it like I see it, and I speak for myself and myself alone.

I talk about my friends, my job, my dreams, my discoveries, my concerns, and so on.  My rants, my disapproval, my theories, my experiences–all get a space here.

This post from a couple months ago talks a little bit about the variety that can be found here.  The blog is almost 9 years old (in November) and has over 450 posts.  The archives are relatively juicy (or so I’ve been told).

“They” say that the press is only free if you own one.  Well, we all know that I certainly don’t own WordPress, but we also know that we can administer and operate our own blogs on here.

I guess administering and operating are the next best thing to owning.  It doesn’t change the fact that with sites like these, the voices of common, (extra)ordinary, everyday people can be projected to the world and seen by anyone who stumbles across us.

How cool is that?

So yeah, this blog is a giant miscellaneous grab bag, a variety pack sampler platter of thoughts as they visit, drifting across my brain.

It’s also a DIY modality of therapy, if you will.  Screw (most of) the self-help books; blogging, at least for me, is where it’s at.

It keeps me sane.  It keeps me connected.  It keeps me entertained.  It keeps me grounded.  It keeps me out of trouble.  It even keeps me strong.  I get to hone my writing skills, whatever skills there may or may not be (lol).

As for the lovely readers?  It keeps people guessing.  It keeps people informed, for whatever that may be worth.  It fosters togetherness, the realization that no matter how weird or outcast you may feel, you’re not alone.  You’re never alone.

Hopefully, it provokes thought.  Hopefully, it illuminates possibilities.  Maybe at some point, it may save a life or two.  I’m probably getting ahead of myself, as the readership is quality over quantity.  I don’t even care about stats.  I only care that I’ve achieved the relief that comes about as a result of catharsis, and hopefully entertained or comforted someone else in the process.

Maddie herself is now a memory, one that is distant enough to bring a smile no longer accompanied by tears, but still close enough to bring about a pang of longing.  She will always live on in our hearts; as this blog’s namesake, she will live on in the world.  ❤


6 thoughts on “What’s Who Loves Kitty about, anyway?

    1. Aww!💖💖 You rule, girl. If a picture says a thousand words, then you’ve written me a full essay of love and support right there! How did I miss this?? 😳 I’m chocking it up to WP malfunction; it had been doing that during the dates of this post and your comment 💚💙. But I wanted to say thank you anyway! Please excuse my tardiness 😘😘🌺💖🌟💖💜💙💚😉🙌🏼💐♨️💪🏼😍👋🏼😎🤗💞

  1. Hello there [waves at you], you know I follow your other blog, but I just clicked the Follow button on this one as well, because I like it! It’s kinda fun, reading all your other random stuff – as you can see, I’m wading through the archives here!
    I’ve been thinking that I should get a secondary blog where I can just talk about “stuff” that doesn’t fit in with the “theme” on my current blog – you know, a place where to share my favourite bits from “Wolf Hall”, talk about the spider in my bedroom and that the correct answer to the question “Batmobile or Bond car?” is of course “neither, I want Lola”. I think you are right that blogging can do you good in some ways, but I’ve never even been able to keep an ordinary journal. What do you reckon – give it a whirl?

    1. Hi!! It’s so cool to see you over here! 😘. Thank you so much for following! ❤️❤️. Hehe yeah, this is the quiet little corner in which I go all random lol 😉

      Hell yes! I think you would enjoy starting the secondary blog 😁👍🏼👍🏼. I vote for giving it a whirl! 👏🏼👏🏼. I think you might find it very freeing. I would totally follow you 💚💙💜

Share your thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.